You are here

ECE Distinguished Seminar Series, Prof. Chennupati Jagadish, IEEE Fellow

Friday, October 25, 2019, 2:30 pm

Friday, October 25, 2019 2:30 pm, 260 Dreese Laboratories


Prof. Chennupati Jagadish, IEEE Fellow Professor in Department of Electronic Materials Engineering

The Australian National University, Canberra, Australia


Semiconductor Nanowires for Optoelectronics Applications


Abstract: Semiconductors have played an important role in the development of information and communications technology, solar cells, solid state lighting. Nanowires are considered as building blocks for the next generation electronics and optoelectronics. In this talk, I will introduce the importance of nanowires and their potential applications and discuss about how these nanowires can be synthesized and how the shape, size and composition of the nanowires influence their structural and optical properties. I will present results on axial and radial heterostructures and how one can engineer the optical properties to obtain high performance lasers, THz detectors, solar cells and to engineer neuronal networks. Future prospects of the semiconductor nanowires will be discussed.


Bio: Professor Jagadish is a Distinguished Professor and Head of Semiconductor Optoelectronics and Nanotechnology Group in the Research School of Physics and Engineering, Australian National University. He has served as Vice-President and Secretary Physical Sciences of the Australian Academy of Science during 2012-2016. He is currently serving as President of IEEE Photonics Society, President of Australian Materials Research Society. Prof. Jagadish is an Editor/Associate editor of 5 Journals, 3 book series and serves on editorial boards of 19 other journals. He has published more than 920 research papers (640 journal papers), holds 5 US patents, coauthored a book, co-edited 13 books and edited 12 conference proceedings and 17 special issues of Journals. He won the 2000 IEEE Millennium Medal and received Distinguished Lecturer awards from IEEE NTC, IEEE LEOS and IEEE EDS. He is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science, Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering, The World Academy of Sciences, US National Academy of Inventors, Indian National Science Academy, Indian National Academy of Engineering, IEEE, APS, MRS, OSA, AVS, ECS, SPIE, AAAS, FEMA, APAM, IoP (UK), IET (UK), IoN (UK) and the AIP. He received many awards including IEEE Pioneer Award in Nanotechnology, 2015 IEEE Photonics Society Engineering Achievement Award, 2016 OSA Nick Holonyak Jr Award, 2017 Welker Award, 2017 IUMRS Somiya Award, 2018 UNESCO medal for his contributions to the development of nanoscience and nanotechnologies and 2019 Lyle medal from Australian Academy of Science for his contributions to Physics. He has received Australia’s highest civilian honor, AC, Companion of the Order of Australia, as part of 2016 Australia day honors from the Governor General of Australia for his contributions to physics and engineering, in particular nanotechnology.


Hosted by: Shamsul Arafin & Paul R. Berger