You are here

Berger elected to IEEE Electron Devices Society Board of Governors

The IEEE Electron Devices Society (EDS) welcomed a professor from The Ohio State University to join its Board of Governors this year.

Electrical and Computer Engineering Professor Paul Berger was elected during a board gathering in San Francisco this winter, during which seven national faculty joined to serve three-year terms.

According to IEEE, two of the seven electees are serving a second term, while Berger and four others have joined the board for the first time. 

Berger recently attended the society's mid-year Board of Governors meeting in Tarragon, Spain.

"The backgrounds of the electees span a wide range of professional and technical interests," EDS reported.

IEEE-EDS was created 50 years ago to help foster the professional growth of scientists in the filds of electron- and ion-based devices, using environments and materials in their lowest to highest conducting phase to create photo-electronic, electro-magnetic, electromechanical, electro-thermal and bio electronic signals. 

The society sponsors and reports on education, research, development and manufacturing aspects and is involved in science, theory, engineering, experimentation, simulation, modeling, design, fabrication, interconnection, reliability of such devices and their applications.

Berger currently serves as a Fellow and Distinguished Lecturer of IEEE-EDS and is Chair of the EDS technical committee on Electronic Materials and a member of the Flexible Electronics committee. He is also a Distinguished Visiting Professor at Tampere University in Finland. He received the B.S.E. in engineering physics, and the M.S.E. and Ph.D. (1990) in electrical engineering, respectively, all from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor. He has authored over 120 articles, 5 book sections and been issued 22 patents with six more pending from 60+ disclosures with a Google Scholar H-index of 33.

Notable award recognitions for Berger over the years include the NSF CAREER Award (1996), DARPA ULTRA Sustained Excellence Award (1998), Faculty Diversity Excellence Award (2009) and Outstanding Engineering Educator for State of Ohio (2014). He has been on IEDM, ISDRS, EDTM commitees. He chairs the Columbus IEEE ED/PHO Chapter.